The Girl Who Lived (12)

There was a bit of a glitch with the scheduled post today, but I caught it in time. I’m still away, so I won’t be responding to comments for a few more days.

Part XII: Twenty Scientists

‘Bit of an understatement, that.’

I grin. We share the same sense of humour.

’So, are you my father or not?’

‘Does it matter?’

Does it? He’s either my father or my uncle – either way, the only family I have.

‘No, I don’t think it does.’

I ask him about the building he inhabits. It’s too big for one person, and too well equipped to have been a spur of the moment thing.

‘It’s a climate research station. There’s room for twenty scientists, equipment and provisions for years.’

‘Twenty scientists? Where is the rest, then?’

‘I’m the only one left.’

2 thoughts on “The Girl Who Lived (12)

  1. Imagine actually having this conversation. Every minute, there’s some dramatic line, during which the lightning flashes and the dystopian wreck of a world holds its breath. Brill 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.