The Girl Who Lived (23)

Part XXIII: Normal Person

‘Didn’t factor that in, did you?’

I shake my head. I don’t think it’s a smirk, it’s an expression of concern, actually. Lost for words, I wrap my arms around my knees.

‘I know what it’s like to have your big plan blow up in your face, with things staying the same but getting worse.’

Would it be worse? Isn’t that what I want, for people to treat me like a person? Someone to laugh with, shout at, lean on, comfort, be silly with, fall in love with. Life’s not much fun when you’re surrounded by people who revere you.

***

Sorry again for the delay – I hope I’ll get the next one ready before I leave for the National Flash Fiction Day events this afternoon. In the meantime, check out the prompts for the Write-In and send us your stories – pretty please!

2 thoughts on “The Girl Who Lived (23)

Comments are closed.